Here’s To The Year Of Me

And in the blink of an eye, 2016 comes to an end.

Over the course of the last 12 months, my life has completely changed. I realized the reason I moved to New York was no longer what lit my soul on fire.

So I learned to be fearless.

I turned my passions into a new career. There hasn’t been a single day since that I wasn’t excited to go to work. To look around at the people on my team and be eternally grateful for these new friendships, as well as thankful for the ones that remained from my old job.

It had been a while since I left the country and I was getting antsy.

So I grew wings and I flew.

I saw two new countries I never really planned on visiting and fell head over heels for both of them. (Iceland even locked me in a bathroom, it wanted me to stay so badly!) I traveled halfway around the world to visit an old friend and gained new ones in the process.

I thought I was ready to get back into running, but found out I was still broken.

So I learned to be patient.

I spent hours of class time continuing to push myself on this journey. It’s never-ending, but the changes I’ve seen are empowering and keep pushing me to work harder. Someday I’ll run my marathon, whether it’s next year or 20 years from now.

Every day I look around at the people in my life and my heart swells.

I learned that I have the world’s most amazing support system. Their hard work and dedication pushes me to work even harder. They force me to be better. To dream bigger. To love more. And there are not enough words to describe how much I love them for it.

But more than anything this year, I learned who I was.

Every day I look around at the people in my life and my heart melts.

I learned that I have the world’s most amazing support system. Your hard work and dedication pushes me to work even harder. You force me to be better. To dream bigger. To love more.

And lastly, speaking of love, I learned to truly love myself. I learned who I was and found the best version of myself. It took almost 29 years, but it doesn’t matter how long it takes as long as you eventually get there.

When I think back on it, 2016 was pretty freaking great.

2017, are you ready? Because I know I am.

Leave a Reply

