My Morning Routine

I was never a morning person growing up. Just ask my parents. They’d have to turn on all my lights, pull off my blankets, and sing obnoxiously for me to even contemplate getting out of bed.

These days I’m a loud and proud early riser (and most of my friends think I’m insane). It took some work to get to this point (the adjustment period is the worst), but once your body’s used to getting up early, you’d be amazed at how awesome it is!

I’m usually up between 5:30 and 6, even if my alarm is set to go off at 6:01. Don’t judge me! It just means that when I hit snooze, it’s actually 6:10 when I have to start moving, which somehow seems more manageable.

I always keep water next to my bed, and before I fall asleep each night, I always make sure my glass is refilled. I chug that down first thing when I wake up.

Personally, I like to get my workouts in early. It’s too easy to come up with excuses after a day at work. (You’re tired! Someone wants to get dinner! You should probably do your laundry!) So I’ll throw on some lululemon, toss my normal clothes in my gym bag, and make my daily pilgrimage to Flywheel.

After class, I’ll zap my hair with a blow drier and spritz it with some dry shampoo. Throw on some makeup and clean clothes and I’m ready to hit the road!

I’ve already been up for almost 2.5 hours without any coffee, which is a travesty. This gets remedied now. If I have time, I’ll grab coffee with my instructor after class at our favorite Paris Baguette location (there’s something so satisfying about punch cards, am I right?). If not, it’s either 7 Gram Cafe next to my office, or a cup from the kitchen at work.

Once I’m settled in at my desk, I’ll have some yogurt, drink my coffee, and read through my emails. I deal with any follow-ups, and take note of any meetings I have that day. Then it’s time to hit the ground running!

What are some of your morning rituals?

Leave a Reply

