The Virgin Diet

I don’t believe in diets. I am, however, a firm believer in making sustainable changes. Two years ago, when I started this transformation, I didn’t pick some random diet craze, I just decided to eat better. In sticking to the 80/20 rule (because I refuse to give up cheese or the occasional donut) and working out, I’ve lost almost 70 pounds. Sustainability, people. It works. And you can maintain it for the rest of your life. No one can survive on a juice cleanse alone.

That being said, my body is in desperate need of a reset. After my birthday week and then vacation, I definitely fell off the wagon a bit. My skin’s freaking out, my joints are tired, and I just feel sort of blah. I’ve also been getting the occasional rash, and I’m not sure where they’re coming from. Process of elimination — it can’t hurt!

A good friend of mine did The Virgin Diet a while ago and swears by it. And since I’m not doing it for weightloss, just to clear out my system and figure out what’s been bothering it, it sounded like something I’d be willing to try. So starting today, for 21 days, there will be no dairy, no gluten, no soy, no corn, no peanuts, no artificial sweeteners, and no eggs.

Honestly, dairy’s the only thing I’m really bummed about. Wisconsin pride!

Basically, these three weeks are used to reset your system, and then for four weeks after, you slowly reintroduce categories to see what it is your body can and can’t handle. You’re also meant to keep a food diary the entire time so you can really pinpoint problem foods. Alas, dairy is the last group 😦

I don’t think it’ll be an easy three weeks, but I’m stubborn and I’ll do it. And hopefully I’ll figure out what it is that’s been giving me grief! And if it’s dairy, well… I guess I’ll just have to suffer. Life is too short to avoid good cheese 😉

I’ll check in when cycle two starts!

Leave a Reply

