The Great Purge of 2016

I’m going to be honest with you guys, I fell off the wagon somewhat the last four months. Between working two jobs at 80 hours a week and trying to find a new job, self care kind of fell to the wayside. I was stressed out and pressed for time. It was nearly impossible to find a spare moment to meet up with friends or go grocery shopping or clean. Even finding time to work out became a challenge.

When I think about it, my room was actually a pretty accurate representation of my mental state. You couldn’t see the floor, everything was out of place, and there wasn’t enough room for everything.

Now that my life is back to normal, I’m ready to get back to my old routine. But there’s a lot of preparation that goes into that. Falling off the wagon is easy — it’s getting back on that’s tough! But it isn’t impossible, so I’ve made every adjustment possible to ensure renewed success. For those of you struggling to get back to a healthier or less cluttered way of life, or if you’re just starting out, here are some areas to focus on that make a world of difference!

  1. Purge your pantry/fridge/freezer. For someone who loves grocery shopping as much as I do, I’ve hardly gone at all the last few months. Instead, I resorted to buying almost all my meals (and that adds up!). So the other day I took some time to reorganize my pantry, my fridge, and my freezer. If it was junk food, I threw it out. It’s much easier to eat healthy when you aren’t surrounded by crap.
  2. Restock your food supply. I hit up my favorite grocery stores and stocked up on essentials like quinoa, black beans, brown rice, and my other favorite healthy staples. I always allow myself to have a bag of chocolate covered almonds on hand, but that is now the only dessert in my house. Everything else is most likely something that came from the ground or an animal.
  3. Purge your closet. I got rid of three bags worth of clothes and shoes because my new job is super casual and I don’t need all of those fancy office dresses anymore. I also got rid of anything that no longer fit. Some of the stuff I gave to friends, and the rest I tossed or donated. Your life will feel instantly declutered when you look in your closet and you’re excited about every item in it.
  4. Purge your inbox. I unsubscribed from almost every mailing list, especially ones for stores I no longer shop at. That way I’m not tempted to spend money, and also, my inbox doesn’t get bogged down. It’s so much less daunting when your unread emails are at 10 rather than 108721087.
  5. Purge your computer. I deleted any old work-related documents that were no longer relevant or necessary. I also deleted all my old resumes and updated my most current.
  6. Do your laundry. I did four loads of laundry and all my bedding, and now everything is ready for a fresh start!
  7. Recommit to gratitude. I bought a gratitude journal at the end of last year and was really enjoying using it. But time got away from me, and I haven’t written in it for a few weeks. Time to dive back in and remind myself of all the awesome things going on around me.
  8. Get a planner. It doesn’t need to be anything fancy, but having a place to write down your plans, or your meals, or your workouts is comforting and helpful. It holds me accountable and also reminds me when I’m not taking enough time for certain activities.
  9. Set a new goal. Now that I’ve crushed that goal of getting a job in the health and fitness industry, it’s time to find another dream to work toward. I’m now super focused on working on my core strength, which will make running easier. And we’re officially 12 weeks out from the Brooklyn Half Marathon, so I’ve got running on the brain!
  10. Treat yourself. My life has been a whirlwind the last few months, so I think I deserve some quality me-time. I’m going to get a message, I have a haircut/dye scheduled, and I bought myself a grown up dresser with some of the money I’d saved. Do something nice for yourself! Maybe it means taking a mental health day, or getting your nails done, or reading that book you’ve had sitting next to your bed. YOU DO YOU.

 

Leave a Reply

