I QUIT MY JOB!

As a lady in her late 20’s, I’ve spent a fair amount of time reading articles with titles like ‘Why You Need A New Job’ and ’10 Signs You Know It’s Time To Find A New Career.’ A friend would send it to me as a joke, or I’d click on it because it popped up on FaceBook. And for a long time I just skimmed.  More recently, though, I realized those articles held a lot more truth than I gave them credit for.

I moved to New York five years ago to work in publishing. I have a degree in Creative Writing, for Christ’s sake. My life up until 2014 was nothing but books. I lived and breathed YA. But that summer was a tough one. I was anxious and depressed, and spent a solid three months in tears for no reason. I was so incredibly miserable, and I had no idea why. No one knew how to help me, and I had no idea how to help myself.

Like all rough patches, this one eventually passed, and coming out the other side, it dawned on me: I didn’t want to work with books anymore. I’d lost my passion for them. And I had felt so lost because the thing I’d used to identify myself for 26 years suddenly no longer applied. And what’s more, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. But many people have told me that figuring out what you don’t want to do is often more important that figuring out what you do, so at least I’d eliminated one thing off the list of a thousand possibilities.

I applied for a few jobs on the other side of publishing, doing more marketing or packaging, but those eventually fell through. And then 2015 happened, when I discovered fitness and found my true calling. The people I’d met and who’d helped me change my life were the reason I wanted to switch careers. I wanted to be the person who helped someone else take that step they were previously too afraid of making. Because I know what it’s like to be on both sides of that decision, and how much better life gets once you take a leap of faith and just jump.

So I did it. I QUIT MY JOB!

Now don’t think I made this decision lightly. Toward the end of last year I gave myself an end date of March 1st. So whatever happened, I was going to leave. I wasn’t in a great mental state, and between working two jobs, had run myself ragged. I needed to do what was right for me, and that meant walking away. Plus, I’d be doing everyone else a favor. Someone should be in my position who wanted to be there. Who wanted to work with books and learn the business. I was great at my job, but my heart wasn’t in it. I’d gotten comfortable, and besides, change is scary. But change is always scary. That doesn’t mean it’s bad or you shouldn’t do it!

So I saved enough money to cover the rent for a few months, I still had lululemon as a backup, and that would give me enough time to figure something out if the jobs I was interviewing for fell through.

Which, luckily, they didn’t! I found a new home at ClassPass (where I start tomorrow)! And I cannot tell you how amazing I feel. The stress of the last five years has completely melted away. I’m so excited to wake up and go to work for a company that provides the tools necessary for someone to make the same decision I did. (And also where lululemon is work appropriate. #athliesureforlife) I haven’t even started yet and have already received emails from people on my team saying how excited they are for me to join them. It’s so different from the corporate culture I’m used to, and it’ll take some getting used to, but it’s all good stuff. Every step I’ve taken to get me to this point has been worth it, and now I get to continue on this journey I’m on.

I know what it’s like to feel stuck, to feel trapped in a job. You’re used to it, you know how things work, and you’re comfortable. But you should never sacrifice your happiness or well-being for that. Switching jobs (or careers!) is terrifying, but it’s also rewarding. I’ve never been so happy, and I wish the same for all of you!

To bigger and better things!

2 thoughts on “I QUIT MY JOB!

  1. Sammy, that’s fantastic news! Congratulations! Your post is timely; I’ve had similar feelings myself lately. I almost quit my job late last year but didn’t because of family reasons. Your words are a reminder that, if I’m not happy in my job, why am I wasting so much time there. It’s nice to know there’s hope for me.

    I commend you on your bravery. I can’t imagine how hard that would be, leaving behind the thing that you identified so closely with for so long. I hope your new job is challenging and exciting and makes you happy. Good luck! 🙂

  2. Sammy that is exactly how I felt the summer I packed a Uhaul and took your cousins 1000 miles to a state I new nothing about. I knew I needed a change and look how that turned out! My life has been incredible. Enjoy this new chapter.

Leave a Reply

