What’s In My Fridge + Pantry

Being that my fitness routine is pretty limited right now (both in quantity and variety), I’ve had to be extra careful about what I put in my body — I’m definitely not burning the amount of calories I was a few months ago! To be fair, I’m pretty good about eating healthy on a daily basis, but this injury has really helped me focus on my eating habits and clean up the remainder of my diet. Where before I loosely followed the 80/20 rule (girl’s gotta have her donuts, am I right?), right now we’re probably closer to 90/10 — I don’t believe in completely cutting anything out, but my bad snacking is super minimal.

Lately I’ve been obsessed with Well + Good’s Refrigerator Look Book tag, and in that vein, thought I’d let you take a peak into mine.

Keep in mind that I share this sucker with three other roommates!

unnamed-1

  • Eggs: I’d say eggs are basically a food group for me, so there’s always a half-dozen on the top shelf with my name on it. I love a good scramble after a long run or rigorous workout — they’re a great way to get in that protein.
  • Firm tofu: I like to mix this with some nutritional yeast for a scrambled egg replacement. Throw in a little sriracha, some mushrooms, a whole wheat tortilla, and you’re good to go!
  • Greek yogurt: I like the smaller ones because they’re perfectly portioned for cooking, and they’re easier to take to work for a quick and easy breakfast.
  • Lean ground turkey: I’ve basically been living off these sriracha turkey burgers (or meatballs!) lately. They’re great in homemade alfredo sauce, or with sweet potato noodles.
  • Mozzarella: You can take the girl out of Wisconsin, but you can’t take Wisconsin out of the girl! I’ve always gotta have some cheese around or I feel dead inside.
  • Vegetables for spiralizing: My mom just got me a spiralizer and it’s basically the greatest thing ever. I keep things on hand like sweet potatoes, cucumbers, and zucchini for a quick, healthy dinner. Broccoli is one of my favorite vegetables, and I’ve been using the stalks to make noodles as well! If I could spiralize mushrooms, I totally would.
  • Almond milk: Smoothies, cereal, cooking, you name it, you can use it.

My freezer stuff is pretty minimal.

  • Ezekial bread or english muffins: Sprouted breads are great alternative to white or whole wheat. I’m a huge fan of the english muffins with almond or sunflower seed butter.
  • Frozen fruit: For all those smoothies!
  • Meatless sausage patties: Sometimes you just want something to go with all those eggs.
  • Leftovers: Sometimes I’ll make more food than I need, so I’ll pop the leftovers in the freezer for nights I don’t feel like cooking. That way I know I’m still getting something healthy, but I don’t have to do any work!

My pantry shelf is a little bit of a shit show, but its contents are pretty consistent.

unnamed

  • Quick oats: I hate oatmeal, despite trying it a million different ways. But every Sunday I take a few minutes to make granola bars (either these or these), which last me the entire week.
  • Protein bars: I like to grab a variety from the grocery store and pop them in my gym bag for mornings that I don’t have time for breakfast, or for munching on before a post-work class.
  • Gluten-free bread crumbs: These are great to have on hand for spinkling on casseroles or using as a binding agent in black bean or turkey burgers.
  • Quinoa and quinoa pasta: Great bases for any dish.
  • Black beans: You can put them in just about anything for some added protein.
  • Nut butter: I always have this on hand in one form or another. Right now I’m testing Barney’s almond butter in vanilla bean + espresso.
  • Sweet cacao nibs: Smoothie bowls are my new obsession, and these are a great option for sprinkling on top. It feels like a guilty pleasure, but actually isn’t bad for you.
  • Granola: Whether in yogurt or atop a smoothie bowl, I always keep a bag of this on hand.
  • Chocolate covered almonds: This is really the only snack I allow myself to keep in the house. When I’m craving something sweet, a few of these always does the trick.
  • Chocolate whey protein: I like the Isopure brand, and mix it in with my smoothies pre-workout.

What are some of your food staples?

Leave a Reply

