What’s In My Gym Bag

Recently I found myself in need of a reliable gym bag. Whether I’m spinning before work or taking a barre class after, I’m usually carting around a change of clothes, makeup, my lunch, my life, blah blah blah. Needless to say, the reusable bags from Fairway were’t cutting it anymore. It was time to make an investment.

Bag from Gaiam

I’ve been using this one for a few months now and I’m completely obsessed. It comes in three colors (I have the black one), there’s a pocket for shoes, compartments in the front and back and sides, and hidden pockets on the inside too, so you can separate your stinky clothes from everything else. Not only that, it’s a great size, really durable, and has tons of killer reviews online. I’ve gotten a ton of compliments on it, so I’m clearly not the only one who’s into it!

Here’s what I’ve been keeping inside:

1. Cycling Shoes: So I don’t have these yet, but I’m getting a pair for Christmas and they’ll be going in that awesome ventilated front pocket. For now I just keep an extra pair of flats on hand. I especially like these ones from Tieks.

2. Weight lifting gloves: One of my good friends is a Body Pump instructor, and I try to hit up her class as often as I can. But being a small and sweaty person means I need help holding onto those weights, which is why I picked up these gloves from Harbinger. Something about them just makes me feel like a badass.

3. Sports Bra: I like The Ultimate by VS. My large-chested ladies, you know what I’m talking about when I say you do not want those babies flying all over when you’re working out. This bra keeps you locked and loaded, plus it’s super comfortable and comes in fun prints and colors (a rarity, I know!).

4. Workout pants: I love any of the patterned leggings from Old Navy’s active line (especially the compression variety). They’re ridiculously comfortable, affordable, and come in all sorts of patterns and colors.

5. Workout tops: I’m obsessed with the Chi tanks from Athleta. They’re the perfect fit, perfect length, are super comfortable, moisture-wicking, and come in a million colors.

6. Water bottle: I love Camelbak, especially the bottle with the fold out straw. It’s super handy to have in class when I don’t want to be futzing with screwing and unscrewing caps. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

7. Nuun Tablets: I’m not much for Gatorade these days, but these handy little electrolyte tablets do the trick. Drop ’em into your water bottle and let them dissolve for a fortified beverage that’s sugar-free but tasty and keeps you hydrated and electrolytes in balance all through your workout. My favorites are the lemon-lime and citrus fruit.

8. Deodorant: I’m partial to the Secret Outlast clear gel. I am a hot sweaty mess when I get done with class, and this ensures that at least my armpits smell nice. And! No weird white residue on my clothes.

9. Face Wash: While Flywheel provides shampoo, conditioner, and body wash, I like to give my face a good scrub after class, too. I keep travel sizes of my favorite Origins products in my bag, including their Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash.

10. Makeup Wipes: If I’m heading to the gym after work, I’d rather not do it under a film of makeup. The Clean Truth Cleansing Cloths from Ole Henrikson (the brightening ones) smell amazing and leave your face feeling squeaky clean.

11. Wiccy Magic Muscles Massage Bar from Lush: I was never really into Lush until my roommate gave me this little gem. It’s great for relieving pain in aching muscles, plus it smells really great. This is my go-to after a really tough barre class.

11. Makeup bag: I just picked up a cheapy from F21 and like to keep duplicates of my most basic makeup routine inside. Foundation, foundation brush, blush, eyeliner, mascara, eyebrow pencil, and two lipstick options. And a hairbrush, of course.

12. Yoga Mat: A friend recommended Jade yoga mats to me, and I’ll never go back. They’ve got great traction and grip, and come in a variety of colors. And the great thing about this bag is that there’s a bungie on the bottom so you can strap that sucker on and not have to worry about carrying it. (You could also use it as a weapon on the subway if people are being assholes.)

What are some of your key gym accessories?

One thought on “What’s In My Gym Bag

Leave a Reply

