Good People Are Hard To Find

I know it’s been dead here the last two weeks (sorry!), but they’ve been pretty rough. Between a trip to the ER, my grandpa dying, my flight home being canceled (and thus missing the funeral), and apartment issues, I feel like I should be curled up in a corner somewhere having a nervous breakdown.

But I’m not. I’m doing okay. No, it hasn’t been easy, and yes, there have been tears, but ultimately I’m still standing. Which I’d like to attribute to two very important things:

First and foremost, the people I choose to surround myself with each day are incredible. From my friends and family, to my coworkers and #flyfam, everyone has been so supportive and so kind that I am left speechless. Good people are hard to come by, but I’m lucky enough to have some really fantastic ones in my life. My roommates made sure I got to a hospital and continuously checked up on me. My coworkers took care of everything while I was away and were beyond amazing once I got back. My family is the greatest gift I’ve been given. And my #flyfam was there for me more than I think they know.

We all go through rough patches in our lives. Sometimes it’s one thing, sometimes it’s a bunch of things. And maybe you don’t know how to handle it. Maybe it’s completely out of your control. But having good people in your corner makes it easier. They hold you up when you feel like collapsing. They offer shoulders to cry on, hands to hold, and kind words to hang on to when you need them most.

To every single person who reached out over the last two weeks, know that I am humbled and grateful to call you a friend and that I love you more than words can express.

Secondly, I need to give a shoutout to Flywheel for keeping me grounded and my stress levels low while the rest of my world got turned upside down. Fitness has become such a huge part of my life this year, and the stability of knowing that I have at least 45 minutes a day to tune out all the extra noise has really helped keep me sane. My head feels clearer, my body is in the best shape it’s ever been, and those little goals I keep setting for myself have helped push me forward when I’d rather just stay in bed.

We’ll be back to our regular programing next week, but I just wanted to take today to thank the people in my life that I couldn’t do without. You’re all amazing, and I’m grateful for you every single day.

If any of you guys are struggling right now, I hope things get better for you. Sending love your way!

XO,

Sammy

One thought on “Good People Are Hard To Find

  1. I’m not super religious, but I believe a prayer or two can’t hurt, so just know they are headed your way ❤ I'm so sorry to hear about your grandfather and the funeral and EVERYTHING. It's not easy losing a grandparent, or anyone that you love for that matter. And it's so great to hear you have such wonderful people surrounding you! They're rare, but worth keeping up with ❤

Leave a Reply

