Fitness: Staying Motivated

There are some mornings when my alarm goes off at 6 and I just want to beat the shit out of my phone and throw it against a wall. Why in god’s name am I torturing myself? It’s still dark out! Normal people are sleeping. I should be too.

So I hit snooze. When the alarm goes off the second time, I still want to kick the crap out of it, but I manage to roll over and turn on the light. I force myself to sit up and get out of bed. I methodically pull on my tennis shoes, down a glass of water, and pop a protein shake in the blender. Earbuds go in, my morning playlist gets cranked up, and as soon as I step outside and get a breath of fresh air, I feel okay. The fog kind of lifts and by the time I get to the studio at 7:10 I’m a real live functioning human being who can use her words.

I know, I know. Impressive stuff.

My motivation comes from great instructors who make getting up at the asscrack of dawn worth it. I don’t mind that I never get a day to sleep in because I’d honestly rather be working out. The music is always on point and my guys are there to kick my ass. They’re not afraid to call me out in class or stand in front of my bike, pushing me past my limits. Sometimes they’ll even play some dirty rap music for the girl on bike 31 who’s too busy pushing herself up an imaginary hill at a resistance level her legs can barely move against to thank them with anything other than a faint whoop. (That’s me, by the way.)

And you know what? I keep coming back for more.

Motivation comes from all sorts of places, but the most important one has to be yourself. You need to find your own reason for doing whatever it is you do. I work out for me, not for anyone else. Not to impress a boy, not because I want to look like the models we see in magazines, not because I want to be skinny. I do it because I want to be healthy. I want to be a better version of me.

But sometimes it’s hard to motivate yourself, so here are some suggestions for those days you want to throw in the towel:

  • Buy some cute workout gear. It may sound superficial, but it works!
  • Put together a kickass playlist of some of your favorite songs. Music is an awesome motivator.
  • Sometimes working out alone get be difficult, so get a friend involved. Take a class together. Go for a walk in the park. Do one of those zumba videos in your living room. Sometimes shared experiences are the best experiences!
  • Mix up your routine. Been eyeing that rowing class for a while? Test it out!
  • Hold yourself accountable. Set a goal for yourself and tell your friends and family about it. Their support and encouragement will do the trick!

 What kinds of things are motivating you right now?

Leave a Reply

