#BinaTakesBritain

IMG_5621Ever since I was a kid, I’ve wanted to visit London. I grew up reading Harry Potter and watching countless episodes of Keeping Up Appearances with my grandma. I perfected my accent, dreaming of the day I would move to London, fall in love, and move into a charming flat in SoHo. Maybe walk my french bulldog along the Thames, handsome husband in tow.

27 years later I may not live in London, but when the opportunity presented itself to visit, you better believe I snatched that right up.

Even better? I decided to do it by myself. A solo vacation in the land of my dreams. Could anything be better? No time constraints, no having to worry if someone else is having a good time, no limits on where I could go, or what I could eat. I could do everything on my own terms.

And it was arguably one of the best things I’ve ever done.

 

 

IMG_5623
Big Ben
IMG_5625
Westminster Abbey
IMG_5626
National Gallery
IMG_5635
Gates near Buckingham Palace
IMG_5637
Fountain in front of Buckingham Palace
IMG_5652
The view from The Shard
IMG_5684
Tower Bridge
IMG_5695
South Bank
IMG_5776
Morning Commute
IMG_5809
Wizard in Training
IMG_5944
Number 4 Privet Drive
IMG_5949
The Knight Bus
IMG_6064
Hogwarts Scale Model
IMG_6159
Millennium Bridge and St. Paul’s Cathedral
IMG_6195
Natural History Museum
IMG_6197
London Eye
IMG_6204
Victoria & Albert Museum
IMG_6226
Harrods

 

In the span of five days I managed to see…

  • Big Ben
  • Westminster Abbey
  • The London Eye
  • The Globe Theater
  • Tate Modern
  • Museum of Natural History
  • The National Gallery
  • Victoria & Albert Museum
  • British Museum
  • Borough Market
  • Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park
  • Tower of London
  • Trafalgar Square
  • Kings Cross Station
  • Buckingham Palace
  • Harry Potter Studio Tour
  • The View from the Shard
  • MI6 building
  • Harrods
  • Selfridges
  • Debenhams
  • Liberty London

Plus I got in plenty of shopping! (Boots, how I’ve missed you…)

Obviously there were things I didn’t get to do (i.e.: go to the theater, have high tea, see a proper football match), but for the amount of time I was there, and having been sick all five days, I think I covered a pretty good amount of stuff.

Now I’m off to plan my next big adventure! I’m thinking… Athens.

3 thoughts on “#BinaTakesBritain

Leave a Reply

