30 Day Yoga Challenge

I went through a really rough patch this summer. I was depressed, spent most of my free time in bed, and cried more than any one person should. But having pushed past that, I’ve spent the last couple of weeks working to really restore my mind and body. I tossed the junk food in my pantry, dug out my running shoes, and started writing down things I’m thankful for.

But the biggest thing that’s helped to clear my head is yoga. I used to go to class once a week. I practiced on weekends. And the fact that I went without for nearly four months really took a toll on my mental health and stress levels.

So I decided to take up the 30 Day Yoga Challenge, a youtube series taught by Erin Motz. Each video is between 10-20 minutes, so you can fit it in right when you wake up or just before bed. The videos cover everything from basic stretching to yoga for runners, and everything in between. It’s great for beginners, but Erin also provides options for more advanced yogis too.

One month later and I’m definitely feeling more clear-headed and relaxed. I’m back on track, attending class again, and feeling good. Sometimes you just need a kick in the pants. 30 days is just long enough to help form a habit, and short enough that it doesn’t seem daunting.

Also, now that the 30 day challenge is over, I’m back to my old favorite, Yoga with Adriene. She’s got videos for just aboutย everything, doesn’t take herselfย tooย seriously, and is really good at keeping me motivated when I can’t get out of my house for class.

What are some of your favorite yoga channels/classes?

Leave a Reply

