Autumnal Adventures

IMG_5092

I. Love. Fall. I love the changing leaves, warm cider, the smell of pumpkins, and the hint of winter that’s starting to creep into the air. Scarves are back in season, it’s time to dust off the ol’ boots, and I’m not going to lie, I’ve dug out my mittens. And while I love the idea of apple picking, it wasn’t until this year that I finally went (sad, I know).

If you’re looking to get out of the city for a day, there are tons of farms within driving distance of NYC. And since all of my roommates went to school in Connecticut, I was more than happy to take their lead. With our zip car and handy GPS (whose voice was simultaneously the most amazing yet creepiest thing I’ve ever experienced in my life), we made the trek to Belltown Hill Orchards in Glastonbury.

Not only did I pick enough apples to last me a lifetime, I stocked up on honey and, you guessed it, apple cider donuts. I mean, who can resist those?

Also, can we just take a moment to appreciate how gorgeous this place is? Even on a chilly overcast Saturday in October, it’s breathtaking.

IMG_5088

IMG_5089

IMG_5090

IMG_5091

IMG_5093

We made a whole day of it, stopping at Cheesecake Factory on the way up, and exploring Hartford afterward. My roommates should probably go into the tour guide business — they took me around their college campus (which is extremely pretty in fall, FYI), and a few of their old haunts. If you’re in the mood for hot chocolate served to you in a bowl, definitely stop by Tisane while you’re in town.

If nothing else, just head up to CT for the day anyway. It’s a nice break from the city, and the Northeast in fall can’t be beat.

What’s your favorite thing to do in fall?

Leave a Reply

