Weekend Getaway: Atlanta

I’ve been a rather impulsive traveler this year. Maybe I’ve needed more breaks from the hustle and bustle of the city, or maybe I’ve just caught the travel bug. Either way, when I saw the chance to finally drop in on my good friend Kat Zhang, I took it. (For those of you who don’t know Kat, she’s the author of THE HYBRID CHRONICLES, which you should absolutely be reading.) It also gave me a chance to knock another new city off my list: Atlanta.

And golly gee was it charming. Maybe I’m really a simple girl at heart, who likes nice people, backyards, crickets chirping, and dinners on porches, but there’s something to be said about stepping outside my NY box and retreating back to the world I spent so much of my life in. (Do not be fooled, NYC is a world of its own.) Where people move slower and smile more often. It’s refreshing.

So are the abundance of trees.

Yes, we did the touristy thing. Georgia Aquarium, Coca Cola Museum, Centennial Olympic Park… I saw them all. And they were lovely. (Particularly the aquarium.) But sometimes you just need to get away for a while, and Atlanta was the perfect weekend trip. I’m looking forward to going back sometime in the future and exploring more of downtown. I liked the pace of life here, and all the smiles people shot me.

Atlanta, you made me smile back.

IMG_4935

 

IMG_4805

 

IMG_4948

IMG_4941

IMG_4821

IMG_4916Ā  Ā  Ā IMG_4943

IMG_4800

Leave a Reply

