The Brunch Experiment: The Mermaid Inn

IMG_4663
For a touch of Cape Cod cuteness, be sure to stop by The Mermaid Inn, situated on the Upper West Side. With it’s charming white picket fence, you won’t be able to miss it. And trust me, you don’t want to. (Word to the wise, make a reservation if you don’t plan on coming early.)

There are three Mermaid Inn locations: the UWS, Lower East Side, and Greenwich, all of which specialize in oysters and seafood. And according to Yelp and numerous friends, they know what they’re doing. If you’re interested in $1 oyster happy hours, this is definitely the place to go. But the real reason I come to The Mermaid Inn is brunch. If you want the meanest plate of huevos rancheros, or a fluffy stack of pancakes, this is the place. Their brunch menu has a solid mix of breakfast and lunch entrees, and even my pickiest friend has been able to eat at least two things on the menu. So you know it’s good.

Me, I tend to stick with the huevos rancheros, simply because they’re out of this world. Next time I might consider opting for a lunch option, but that remains to be seen. (Although I’ve seen the plate of fish tacos and lobster sandwich and just thinking about them makes my mouth water.)

IMG_4651

Also, for those used to paying $12+ for a brunch cocktail here in the city, you’re in luck! Mermaid Inn’s tasty beverages are only $7 a pop! The complimentary bread and homemade strawberry butter are also nice (and delicious) touches.

From the two times I’ve been here, I’ve had zero complaints. The staff is friendly, the food is great, and the atmosphere is super chill. Last time I was in here, Frank Sinatra was trickling through the speakers while I sipped my coffee, and I couldn’t help but smile. It’s a great place for people watching, and if you don’t feel like looking at the goings-on of Columbus Ave., you can take in the adorable interior. Dark wood paneling and hints of days spent at sea are the perfect way to spend a Saturday morning.

The Mermaid Inn is located on Columbus Avenue, between 87th and 88th Streets.

 

Leave a Reply

