Perfumania

IMG_4690

I’ll be honest, I’m not a huge perfume kind of gal. I have a handful that I’m incredibly loyal to, but I’m not the type to impulsively buy one from Sephora just because I like the bottle (tempting as it may be). I’ve been using my signature fragrance since freshman year of college, and I can’t even get it in stores anymore, I have to order it online.

Still, I do enjoy the splurge that comes with buying a new bottle. Perfume makers know what they’re doing when it comes to packaging because the bottles are usually gorgeous, and I will admit, I’ve based some of my choices on whether or not they’ll look good on my shelf.

So here’s just a quick overview of my current favorites (with descriptions stolen from the interwebs because sometimes they’re just too ridiculous to pass up):

Ferragamo // Incanto Shine (My every day go-to)

  • It is a fruity floral fragrance, in a colourful bottle adorned with carefree summer motifs. It starts with fresh notes of pineapple, bergamot, and passion fruit. Pink peony, freesia, and peach are at its heart. The base consists of cedar, amber, and musk.

Marc Jacobs // Oh Lola! (For spring and summer)

  • The fragrance is blended from fresh and sweet fruity tones, together with floral accords of peony and velvety background of vanilla. The notes include wild strawberry, raspberry, pear, peony, sandalwood and vanilla.

Juliette Has a Gun // Romantica (For fall and winter)

  • The fragrance features notes of white flowers such as orange blossom, jasmine and lily of the valley, together with rose, iris and osmathus, warmed by Bourbon vanilla. Patchouli and vetiver give it the chypre character.

Anna Sui // Forbidden Affair (Handbag backup)

  • The fragrance begins with a romantic fairy tale told by fresh lemon and red and black currants, which slowly develope into the heart of raspberry, rose petals, and pomegranate. Intriguing accords of violets, cedar, and musk form a seductive base.

 

What’s your signature scent?

4 thoughts on “Perfumania

    1. It *absolutely* is great for fall! I tend to save it for colder months, but there are definitely days where I just need something a little more “grown up” too, and this always fits the bill.

  1. Lol I literally posted my favourite fall scents about 12 hours ago. I just found and followed your blog from the perfume tag.Great minds think alike I guess;) it hard for me to pick a signature I rotate.Some remind times I’ve worn it day,night,happy,sad.in honestly depends on my mood. Example: I couldn’t wear hypnotic poison for one whole fall after smelling it on girl I detested. I hope that makes sense lol. Notorious by Ralph Lauren was mine until it was foolishly discontinued 😦 here’s my favourites if you’d like to check them out.
    http://lacesfaces.wordpress.com/2014/09/25/looking-for-your-perfect-fall-scent/

  2. Totally hear you. Some people just ruin a good scent. I’ll intrigued by some of your picks, will definitely have to go investigate!

Leave a Reply

