Sweet Dreams

IMG_4626I hadn’t been sleeping well the last few months, so I decided to get proactive (no, not the acne stuff) about solving the problem. Not liking the idea of sleeping pills, it was time to get creative. And here’s what I found: it’s possible to get a good night’s rest without shooting Nyquil.

Now, the noise in New York can make it hard to sleep in general. We have a delightful man who lives just across the alley from us named Miguel, and I’m not sure his mama ever taught him to use his inside voice. He’ll be hollering and screaming at 4AM, or up at dawn to serenade us with Tina Turner’s greatest hits (poorly, I might add). Sometimes he just makes sounds.

Either way, the best thing I’ve found to combat Miguel’s racket is the Marpac Dohm Sound Machine. I actually discovered this gem while house sitting last year. My friend had two of these in the bedroom, and I don’t think I’ve ever slept as well as I slept that week. They’re a bit on the pricey side at $50, but was worth every damn penny. (That being said, I’m a girl who always has to have some white noise in the evening, so if you like your nights dead silent, this product is not for you.)

With the noise problem solved, I moved on to the actual act of falling asleep. Dream Water is a great natural remedy for nights when you’re tossing and turning, and there seems to be no end in sight. You can find them at Duane Reade or your local pharmacy (or Amazon). Though they’re more expensive than they need to be (a pack of four will run you about $15 if they’re not on sale), I’ve found that they do work. I especially like these for traveling. If I have a long ass flight, or a train ride that exceeds a few hours, a shot of this will do the trick. I always keep one in my bathroom in case I’m having a particularly rough night.

I’ve also recently added The Body Shop’s Deep Sleep Dreamy Pillow and Body Mist to the mix. A few spritzes on my pillow before bed and I’m ready for a night of uninterrupted sleep.

How about you?

What are some of your favorite insomnia solutions?

 

Leave a Reply

