My New Bible

 

how-to-look-expensive-cover-w352

HOW TO LOOK EXPENSIVE by Andrea Pomerantz Lustig
Published 8/7/2012 by Gotham
224 Pages

It’s no secret that I love fashion. If you’ve seen the contents of my closet (or floor), you know it’s true. Those strategically placed magazines at the checkout? I buy them. I spent five days last year trying to track down the illusive September Issue of Vogue. I watch a ridiculous amount of beauty vlogs, spend way too much time window (or actual) shopping in Sephora, and could spend hours at Goodwill, hunting for that vintage Chanel bag buried beneath a pile of granny sweaters.

But I don’t own any beauty books.

My boss had lunch with an editor over at Penguin a while back, and said editor was nice enough to send over a copy of this book. It was handed to me with the instructions, “Take a look! I think this is something you’d totally like.”

Needless to say, I went out and bought my own copy just as soon as I’d finished flipping through it.

Whether you have a boatload of money to spend on beauty products, or you’re on a tight budget, this book has tips and tricks for everyone. Need a free haircut? It’ll tell you where. Want to be pampered at one of New York’s top salons? You’re covered. If you’re in the mood for some splurge items, there are plenty of suggestions (drug store and beauty counter). The great thing about this book is that it’s applicable whether I’m feeling thrifty or have money to burn.

 What’s your go-to beauty resource?

Leave a Reply

