My Favorite Travel Apps

IMG_4031

1. AirBnB: My kryptonite. I can spend hours (you think I’m joking, but I’m not) looking at places on here. I’d heard nothing but good things from those who had used it, so I decided to give it a go. Everything was seamless and easy, plus you get $25 for every person you refer who books through the site. From private rooms to entire flats, standard bedrooms to crazy tent things in the middle of the desert, there’s something on here to fit everyone’s bill.

2. XE Currency Converter: This one can be kind of depressing, considering the dollar doesn’t go nearly as far in the UK, but it’s a handy way to keep track of your money while traveling, and make sure you’re not spending too much for something that might be cheaper to order online or back home.

3. SkyScanner: Need a vacation this weekend, but don’t have a destination in mind? Skyscanner will find you the cheapest available flights available today, tomorrow, or two months from now. I may have almost impulsively bought a ticket to Norway just because it was $500 roundtrip.

4. Wi-Fi Finder: Don’t want to spend a million dollars in roaming fees while abroad? This app tells you were the nearest wi-fi is.

5. Gate Guru: I hate getting through security only to find that the airport I’m in has shitty choices for dining. This app shows you which amenities are available before and after security so you can buy that muffin when you need it most. It also provides maps of the airport as well, so you know exactly what’s available and how close you are to it.

6. Citymapper: I only recently discovered this one, but it changed my life. It tells you how to get from point A to point B, what the weather’s like at your destination, how long it’ll take, how expensive a cab might be, and everything else under the sun. It’s live in multiple cities right now including NYC, London, DC, Paris, and others.

7. Various metro maps: I always download the metro map of whichever city I’m visiting. I hate being that person peering over someone’s head trying to read a map on the wall, or carrying a giant fold-out one with me. It keeps you from looking clueless and out of everyone’s way.

What are some of your favorite travel apps?

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Travel Apps

Leave a Reply

