2013 Resolutions

I’ve never been a fan of New Year’s Resolutions. My enthusiasm usually lasts about a day (if I’m lucky), and then I just revert back to my old habits. I haven’t bothered with resolutions for the better part of a decade (probably longer), but this year I’m feeling rather inspired. 2012 really did a number on me (in ways both good and bad), and I’d like to make some changes in my life. Recommit to others. So here we go! My resolutions for 2013.

  • Budgeting. This one is huge. Growing up, I was terrible with money. As soon as I had it, I had to spend it. College wasn’t much better. All of my expenses were covered by my loans (which I’m now paying back), so I saw my paychecks as extra spending money when I really should’ve been saving. Big mistake there. Moving to NYC has been a real eye-opener, and the last 18 months have really forced me to look at my spending habits. So for 2013 I’m looking to pay off my credit card debt (and literally freeze my card and stick it in my freezer afterward), redo my entire budget, reopen my savings account, and start setting aside some money for a new computer. Or a trip. I’d love for living paycheck-to-paycheck to be a thing of the past.
  • Weight loss. My little sister was a huge inspiration to our family this year, myself included. I have a medical condition that makes weight loss incredibly difficult, but I managed to drop 20 pounds in the last six months. Then I couldn’t run for nearly two months due to injury, and ate like crap over the holidays. It’s time to get back on track. I’d love to have lost another 20 pounds by the end of this year.
  • Blogging more. I say this every year and it never happens, but I have a feeling that if I blog to keep track of my resolutions, I may actually succeed this year. You can probably call me out on this in December. (At the very least, I have a series of blog posts scheduled that revolve around living in NYC for those of you considering a move, particularly to work in publishing.)
  • Me time. 2012 was kind of insane. I spent a lot of time doing work and worrying about other people. It’s how I am, and there’s nothing wrong with taking care of others! But I’m bad about carving out a little “me time,” so I’m making it a thing this year. Whether it’s buying myself a new nailpolish and giving myself a manicure, or taking a few hours to just sit in a cafe and read, I’m going to do it.

So that’s it. That’s what I’m hoping to achieve in the next 12 months.

What about you guys? What are your resolutions for the new year?

One thought on “2013 Resolutions

  1. Good for you Sammy! I would also suggest seriously consider opening an IRA if you don’t already have one. You only need a couple of hundred to get one started. As for me, It’s always about the weight, but it has been a good year for our family and my sister, your mom, looks great! I took off 36 pounds this year and will hope for at least another 40 for 2013. My other resolution is to
    actively do some rewrites and hit some writers conventions. Happy New Year!.

Leave a Reply

