The Best Brunch in Brooklyn

For the record, I think breakfast is the best meal of the day. You can eat it in the morning or at night, and nobody will ever judge you for it (whereas if you eat leftover casserole and chicken for breakfast, there might be a raised eyebrow or two). It also includes some of nature’s finest ingredients, including bacon, eggs, and coffee.

I first arrived in New York on a Friday night in June, around 10PM, completely drenched. I had to drag my suitcase through Penn Station (which, somehow, took forever for me to find), then navigate the subway based on my roommate’s shitty directions. (For the record, Hoyt-Shmermermermer, is not actually a station.) But as I threw myself into bed that night, she informed me that The New York Thing To Do was to go to brunch on the weekend.

And it’s a trend I’ve loved ever since. And while I’ve been to many a brunch, with many a lovely person, there’s one that stands out above the rest. Yesterday, my friend Miriam and I braved the snow to meet up at the General Greene at the corner of Dekalb and Clermont.

And let me just say, if you’re willing to pay a little more than usual, this place is beyond worth it. The interior is adorable, the staff is super friendly, and the food is to die for. So is their coffee. Brunch also offers 2-for-1 bloody marys, to which Miriam was vastly disappointed when I had zero interest in getting one. I settled for water and loads of coffee instead.

After catching up on work, social lives (or lack thereof), and other important things, we managed to narrow down our choices . (Miriam had been looking forward to the fried chicken and waffles, but in the end that option was taken away because the waffle machine was broken.) We both got the biscuit and two eggs, which wound up being a fantastic choice. It comes in a personal skillet with herb mayo, and as soon as they put our plates down, we each whipped out our phones to capture this identical picture.

Can I just say, I could eat that every day for breakfast and never get sick of it. It was amazing. And filling. (And yet I tortured myself and ordered a salted caramel sundae as well, which disappeared before I could think to get a picture.) The eggs were cooked to perfection, the biscuit was heavy (but in a good way), and I definitely didn’t feel the need to eat for the rest of the day. The rest of the menu also looks delicious, and at some point I’d love to come back to see how dinner measures up. But in the meantime, I’ll just suggest everyone go here for brunch. You won’t be disappointed.

*exterior photo from www.clintonhillfoodie.com/
Leave a Reply

