On the Move

You know what I hate? Moving. Since 2009 I’ve had to pack my bags eight times, and it becomes less enjoyable with each move. (Okay, who am I kidding? It was never enjoyable.) And moving in New York? The absolute worst of the worst. Housing is at a premium here, and apartments go in less than a day. You have to be prepared to sign papers at the drop of a hat. We lost out on quite a few places because we weren’t quick enough with our signatures. The fact that everything here is so freaking expensive makes it even more important to jump on the reasonably priced places, which are few and far between. You can stalk Craigslist for days before finding anything worthwhile*.

*And when you do, there’s always the chance that those girls are actually a middle-aged serial killer**.
**Who is sitting alone in front of his computer with a box of Dunkin Donuts and lukewarm coffee***.
***I love Dunkin Donuts.

I really lucked out when I first moved here. I stayed with a friend for a few weeks, and then one of her roommates moved out. I took over the abandoned room, simple as that. At first we’d thought we wanted to move too, but after the rigamarole of trying to track down a new abode, we gave up and just stayed put. Which was fine before I got a job in the city, and my commute turned out to be the better part of an hour (longer on days when the train decides it doesn’t want to run like the somewhat-functioning machine it usually is).

So what did I decide to do? I decided, during the busiest month of the year, that I was going to add to my stress level by looking for a new apartment. I realized the other day that I never actually signed any paperwork when I moved into my current apartment, so I guess I’m not technically on any lease, which gives me some freedom to move around (pun not intended). Not being a morning person (though I’ve gotten better! I promise!), getting up at 6:30 every day is just not cutting it. So I’m looking at places in New Jersey. 1)You get a lot more bang for your buck, and 2)My commute would be cut from an hour to about 20 minutes. Do you know what that means, guys?! It means I could wake up at EIGHT and still get to work with time to spare. This is unfathomable to me.

Wish me luck. The (hopefully last one for a while) apartment hunt has officially begun.

Leave a Reply

