Friday Favorites

I probably watch too much TV. But when I get home at 7:30 every night, I just want to relax! So, for this week’s favorites, here’s hoping I can convert some of you to some great television. And if not, well, you can kill time watching trailers. And I always consider procrastination a gift.

  • Modern Family
    I firmly believe that Modern Family is the funniest show on television. There’s never been an episode or a character I didn’t like. It’s just too charming for words. In fact, today I gave my Secret Santa a 2012 Modern Family quotes desk calendar. Because everyone needs to be reminded of how awesome this show is.
  • Downton Abbey
    I’ve always had a thing for British television, especially period pieces. Combine the two and it’s absolute perfection. And so is this show. It’s starts off the day the Titanic sinks (another one of my obsessions, making this essentially the best show ever created), and is full of drama, romance, humor, and the greatest cast imaginable. Plus they have the best theme song ever. And Maggie Smith.
  • Shameless (US)
    I know, I know, I’m supposed to watch the UK version, but I’m still absolutely obsessed with this show, and I can’t WAIT for it to come back. William H. Macy and Joan Cusack together on one show? Priceless. The fact that it can make me laugh until I nearly pee myself, and then cry, all in one episode, make it even better.
  • Dexter
    I admit, I haven’t had a chance to catch up on this season yet, and seasons one and two were far and away the best (Because of Doakes!), but any show that can make me feel sympathetic toward a serial killer deserves a round of applause. I mean, at least he only kills other bad people. That has to count for something, right? (Not to mention, Michael C. Hall is handsome in the extreme.)
  • Fringe
    If you like weird (and Joshua Jackson), you’ll love this show. You can’t just randomly pick an episode — you’ve got to start from the beginning. But you’ll be sucked in in no time! Especially once you get to the later seasons, where the plot has layered itself so well? *Dies*
  • Glee
    I’m not gonna lie, I only watch it for Kurt and Blaine, but I think that’s reason enough. Also, if you check out my most-played on iTunes, I think four of the top five songs are from this show. Oops?
  • Project Runway
    I swore I’d never watch it again after Gretchen won (that hideous line of diapers!), but I couldn’t stay away for long. I was still there for the premier of this last season, and I’ll be there with bells and whistles for Project Runway Allstars. But season 2 was still the best. Examples:

One thought on “Friday Favorites

  1. I love Modern Family! That’s the only show listed here I watch. Another show I find very funny is How I Met Your Mother.

    My boyfriend watched Dexter so I’ve been loosely following the last season, but he agrees that it used to be better.

    Speaking of British television, the same boyfriend (who spent two years in boarding school at Cambridge and has an interesting part of English culture) made me discover Jeeves and Wooster with Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie; it’s a comedy, but I was surprisingly enchanted by the first season’s recreation of the 30’s atmosphere among English aristocrats and idle rich young men.

Leave a Reply

