November Pledges

It’s strange to think it’s already October. It’s particularly difficult when there are still days when the temperature hovers in the low 80s and the humidity turns my wavy hair into nothing more than a glorified bush. November is just around the corner, but we’ve barely even had time to enjoy fall! November is when I pull out my winter coat, eat a crapload of turkey, and see tiny puffs in front of my face when I go outside in the morning.

And if you’re a writer, you know that November means NaNoWriMo.

Initially, I wasn’t going to participate this year, but I haven’t been writing much these days, so maybe this will be the push I need to get me back in gear. It’s also an opportunity to play with an idea I’ve had for a while, so I think it’ll be good to try again after basically skipping last year. It is entirely likely that I will fail, but my hope is that forcing myself to write every night for a month will get me back into the habit of carving out some time every day to work on my own projects.

So, if you too are turning yourself into a word slave for the month of November, feel free to add me!

And on an unrelated note, but equally as interesting (well, maybe), I’m also pledging myself to No Repeat November. I’ve wanted to do this for a long time, but never actually got around to it. Essentially, for a month, I am not allowed to repeat an outfit. Repeats of garments are acceptable if they’re worn with other things, but the point is to refrain from buying any clothes for a month. Since most of my clothes have finally made the move to New York as well, November seemed like a great time to give this a try. (The alliteration helped, too.) Maybe I’ll post pictures of some of my favorites. Alex Bracken did this for the month of October, and it gave me the push I needed to finally do it myself. (She also had some ridiculously adorable outfits that I am now coveting.)

If you want to pledge yourself to No Repeat November, too, let me know! It always helps to have partners in crime to motivate you.

God, November is going to be insane.

One thought on “November Pledges

Leave a Reply

