Music Monday

I wrote the first three chapters of a book called DON’T MAKE A SCENE my freshman year of college. Then I abandoned it because I wasn’t sure where it was going. When I got kidney stones a year later, I was laid up for over a month, and in the process, churned out about 70,000 words, successfully completing my second novel. I’ve edited it on and off since then, but only recently have I actually honed in on the project with plans to really commit. Dystopians are becoming harder to sell because the market is just so saturated, and because I knew I had other material I could work with, I decided it was time to take a break from the future and settle for something more contemporary.

The thing is, revisiting DMAS is like seeing an old friend. We’ve been together for nearly six years, and I know and love these characters like my real life best friend. They’re familiar, and comfortable. So, in the grand scheme of things, I think returning to this particular project is a good call on my part. All I really need to do is finish editing it, which, if I continue to set aside the time, won’t take very long.

In the spirit of editing, and my love of putting writing to music, here’s a song that’s been stuck in my head recently, and fits the tone of DMAS to a T.

What have you guys been listening to lately?

One thought on “Music Monday

  1. I watched Christina and him on a recent television show that I liked. Before that I had never heard him before but like him very much. Right now I am listening to Pink.

Leave a Reply

